Chair of EU cultural law and policy

Cultural policy at the European level is a source of economic, legal and societal challenges. To answer these questions and enable professionals to better understand the legal mechanisms involved, a programme led by Jean-Christophe Barbato benefited from the only Jean Monnet Chair awarded to a French academic by the European Union in 2016. The Chair continued its activities until the end of 2018 and ended with the departure of Jean-Christophe Barbato, its holder, from the University of Nantes.

The objectives of this Chair were to deepen and disseminate knowledge about EU cultural law and policy to a wide and diverse public. It was also to encourage professionals and future professionals in the field of culture to take up European instruments. The logic pursued was resolutely inclusive and was based on academic excellence as well as international and civil society openness.

A scientific committee and a steering committee were set up to support Jean-Christophe Barbato in the governance of the Chair. The scientific committee, composed of both senior and junior researchers, was responsible for supervising research activities. The steering committee, which was multidisciplinary and open to non-academics, was responsible for validating and enhancing the programme of activities.


Jean-Christophe Barbato

Associate Professor of Public Law, teaching at the University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, specialist in European Union law. Author of a thesis entitled "Cultural diversity in Community law. A contribution to the analysis of the specificity of European construction".

His work focuses on the law and policy of culture in the European Union. He has participated in conferences in France and abroad (Brussels, Saint Petersburg) and is an expert on these issues for the Belgian F.R.S.-FNRS.

He has written extensively on EU cultural law and policy, including a “culture” booklet for the Dalloz repertoire in collaboration with Jack Lang. He also co-organized an international colloquium at the Petit Palais in Paris in June 2015, devoted to the “Europeanization and Internationalization of Museum Law” with the support of the Louvre.

At the University of Nantes, he directed the European and International Studies Department and co-directed the European and International Law M1 and the EU Law M2. He was holder of the EU Law and Culture Policy Chair until 2018, as part of the Jean Monnet programme.


- Consolidation of the training offer in European Union law and development of an offer in EU cultural law and policy at the University of Nantes (courses given in the European and international studies specialization, creation of a distance-learning University Diploma in "art and cultural law" for practitioners and students).

- Support for research work on EU cultural law and policy, by associating young researchers with renowned scholars.

- Organization of conferences, meetings and debates on the European Union, aimed at a large and diverse audience. The Chair's vocation is to welcome internationally renowned academics as well as practitioners from Europe. In addition, the Chair has joined existing networks with major cultural institutions and practitioners from the world of art and culture and has strengthened bilateral relations with the Faculty of Law in Plovdiv.


Droit et changement social, UMR 6297 CNRS (University of Nantes)

DCS (Law and Social Change) is a joint research unit between CNRS and the University of Nantes, with a legal focus and whose aim is to develop interdisciplinary relations. The common basis of the laboratory lies in its overall objective: to understand the role of law in the transformations of contemporary society. DCS emphasizes the observation of practices and approaches for evaluating the effectiveness of legal norms.

Jean Monnet Programme

Created in 1989, the Jean Monnet Programme aims to stimulate excellence in teaching and research on the European Union, all over the world.

The programme was integrated into the Erasmus + programme in 2014, and supports several types of actions: Jean Monnet chairs, centres of excellence or teaching modules, but also multilateral projects and research groups.

A Jean Monnet Chair is awarded for a period of 3 years to a university professor specialising in European Union studies, who receives a maximum support of €50,000 from the European Commission for the implementation of his or her teaching and research activities.

For more information on the Jean Monnet programme, its objectives and the activities it finances, please visit the website of the Erasmus+ France Education and Training Agency and the EACEA website.